October 3, 2022


Be educated, be a good achiever

Know About The Irish Schools System

1 min read

With education becoming increasingly important in the modern world, it's no surprise that parents are willing to spend a lot of time and money on their children's schooling. With this in mind, there have been many changes in the education system over the last few decades.

Ireland is one of the few countries in the world that has a three-tier secondary school system. Students attend primary school for six years, followed by two years at junior level and then three years at senior level. The three-tier system was introduced in the 1960s to deal with a large number of students and to allow people to move up the educational ladder according to their ability. 

Image Source: Google

The three levels have different examinations and students are required to complete a particular number of credits in each level. The National School Certificate (NSC) is the equivalent of a high school diploma in the United States. It is awarded upon completion of 18 credits in grade 12, including five core subjects: English, Irish, mathematics, science, and social studies. 

The Irish system has been praised for its focus on individual achievement rather than group achievement. This system allows students to develop their own skills independently and gives them more opportunities to find their own interests. Students also have more control over their education since they are able to choose which subjects they want to study. Some international schools in Ireland offer an International Baccalaureate (IB) program as an alternative to the NSC.